Agong’s Sending Off Ceremony: Road Closures

road closure

Seven routes will be closed on 30 January 2024 in Kuala Lumpur in conjunction with the sending-off ceremony for the 16th Yang di-Pertuan Agong, Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah. The routes will be closed in stages.

According to reporting by the Bernama, an announcement made by the Bukit Aman Traffic Investigation and Enforcement Department (JSPT) director Datuk Mohd Azman Ahmad Sapri, states that there will be a full closure on seven major roads. Another thirteen roads will also see closure and be reopened in stages. 

List of road closures for Agong’s sending off ceremony

The major ones affected are Jalan Damansara to Jalan Parlimen (from the old Istana) and Jalan Sultan Abdul Halim to Jalan Parlimen, starting at 9.00am, that will be reopened in stages.

The roads to be fully closed are:

  • Jalan Damansara heading towards Jalan Parlimen
  • Jalan Sultan Abdul Halim heading towards Jalan Parlimen
  • Lebuhraya Sultan Iskandar heading towards Jalan Parlimen
  • Jalan Kuching heading towards Dato’ Onn traffic circle
  • Jalan Salahudin heading towards Dato’ Onn traffic circle
  • Jalan Kuching/Jalan Sultan Ismail heading towards Dato’ Onn traffic circle
  • Jalan Tun Perak heading towards Dato’ Onn traffic circle

Other roads that are being closed include Lebuhraya Sultan Iskandar to Jalan Parlimen, Jalan Kuching to Bulatan Dato’ Onn, Jalan Salahudin to Bulatan Dato’ Onn, Jalan Kuching/Jalan Sultan Ismail to Bulatan Dato’ Onn and Jalan Tun Perak to Bulatan Dato’ Onn.

Other affected roads that will be closed and open in stages are:

  • Lebuhraya Sultan Iskandar to Jalan Damansara (from the direction of the National Museum)
  • Jalan Sultan Hishamuddin to Jalan Damansara (from the Hishamuddin Traffic Circle)
  • Jalan Tun Sambathan to Jalan Damansara
  • Jalan Syed Putra to Jalan Istana
  • Jalan Dewan Bahasa towards Jalan Istana
  • Jalan Sungai Besi towards KL-Seremban Expressway
  • Lingkaran Tengah towards Lebuhraya Syed Putra
  • Jalan Connaught towards Lebuhraya Syed Putra
  • New Pantai Expressway (NPE) towards Pantai Dalam
  • Maju Expressway towards Tol Salak South
  • Lebuhraya Kesas towards Sungai Besi
  • Lebuhraya Kesas towards KL/Seremban Expressway
  • Sukom Interchange towards Lebuhraya Kesas

The New Pantai Expressway (NPE) from Pantai Dalam, Maju Expressway from the Salak South Toll, Kesas Highway from Sungai Besi, Kesas Highway from KL/Seremban Expressway and Sukom Interchange towards the Kesas Highway will all also be affected by the road closures.

The JSPT also mentioned that there will be up to 91 senior and junior police officers to facilitate traffic on the day of the ceremony to ensure that things proceed as smoothly as possible.

Get free weekly money tips!

*Free of charge. Unsubscribe anytime.