Malaysians Will Need To Apply For A Permit To Visit EU In 2024

Malaysians Will Need To Apply For A Permit To Visit EU In 2024

Looks like Bali is not the only destination that will require visitors to pay a little extra in 2024. Starting next year, Malaysians will need to apply for and pay for a permit before entering any of the European Union or Schengen member countries.

The document known as ETIAS (European Travel Information and Authorisation System), will connect to the traveller’s passport where it will be valid for three years or until your passport expires.

With an ETIAS, Malaysians can stay in EU countries for a maximum of 90 days within a 180-day period. The document is, however, not a visa requirement and is only meant to keep a record of who enters and leaves the Schengen zones.

To apply for the document, you will need to do it online via their official website. Applicants between the ages of 18 and 70 will have to pay €7 (RM36), while minors and those over the age of 70 years old will receive an ETIAS free of charge.

Note that the ETIAS application is only through their website and mobile app (which will launch once ETIAS is operational). You do not need to use private agents to apply or pay more than €7 (RM36) for the permit.

List of countries that requires ETIAS
CzechiaThe Netherlands

In addition to the countries listed above, travellers will also need an ETIAS to visit the following microstates with open borders: Monaco (via France), San Marino (via Italy) and Vatican City (via Italy).

Want the best credit card that fits your travel needs? We’ve got you covered.
Or check out our guide for travelling on a budget.

Get free weekly money tips!

*Free of charge. Unsubscribe anytime.